Tags

, , , ,

The one who loves works very quietly and very solemnly, and yet the forces of eternity are in motion. Love humbly makes itself inconspicuous just when it is working the hardest – indeed, its work seems as if it did nothing at all.

Søren Kierkegaard: Works of Love, 1847, p. 218

 

Unlike many of Chagall’s paintings, after the marriage with Bella in 1915, the room is painted in all details – their love now exists in reality. And he writes in his “My life”:

Sie brachte mir morgens und abends liebliche hausgebackene Kuchen ins Atelier, gebackenen Fisch, gekochte Milch, bunte Stoffe und sogar Bretter, die mir als Staffelei dienten. Ich öffnete nur mein Fenster, und schon strömten Himmelblau, Liebe und Blumen mit ihr herein. Ganz weiß gekleidet oder ganz in Schwarz, geistert sie lange schon durch meine Bilder, als Leitbild meiner Kunst.

Marc Chagall: Mein Leben, 1959
Marc Chagall: The Birthday, 1915

Marc Chagall: The Birthday, 1915

In our life there is a single color, as on an artist palette which provides the meaning of life and art. It is the color of love.

Marc Chagall